Maha Kumbh 2013 : List of Akhara

The biggest Akhara - regarding the number of the Sadhus (Disciple) in it - is 
1.  Juna Akhara
2.  Niranjani Akhara
3.  Mahanirvani Akhara

The head of an Akhara is regarded as Acharya Mahamandaleshwar, followed by other Mahamandaleshwaras, Mandaleshwaras and Shree Mahants.

On the main bathing dates, a colorful and magnificent procession of radiant saints sitting on chariots and elephants is witnessed by thousands of Kumbh visitors. These sadhus, belonging to various camps take dip at holy Ganges first and then the ordinary pilgrims are allowed to take bath in the river.

However, Mahanirvani `` is one of the most important of all and it is normally the first to take the `Shahi Snan`. Their praveshai (entry) and subsequent bath in the Holy Ganga officially marks the beginning of the Maha Kumbh.

During the ‘Shahi Snan’ thousands of devotees assemble near the road sides to get a glimpse of the procession of ascetics parading amid tight security as they make their way to the ghats.

List of Akhadas


  • Shri Taponidhi Niranjani Akhada Panchayati
  • Shri Panchayati Anand Akhada
  • Shri Panchadashnam Juna Akhada
  • Shri Panch Ahvan Akhada
  • Shri Agni Akhada
  • Shri Panchayat Akhada Mahanirvani
  • Shri Panch Atal Akhada

    Bairagi Akhada

  • Shri Nirvani Akhada
  • Shri Digambar Akhada
  • Shri Nimrohi Akhada

    Nirmal Akhada

  • Shri Panchayati Akhada
  • Shri Udasin Panchayati Naya Akhada
  • Shri Nirmal Panchayati Akhada 

  • Dattatreya Akhara

    Datt Akhara

    Deshnami Akhara

    Deshnami Akhara

    Wrestler of Akhara

    1 Response to Maha Kumbh 2013 : List of Akhara

    12 December 2012 at 21:12

    Excellent narration and superb photos!


    Maha Kumbh Mela Dates | Kumbh Mela 2013

    Post a Comment